Friday, June 9, 2023



In most elections, incumbents are considered to have a distinct advantage. But that offers little predictive value for Corrales’ upcoming election for mayor and three of the six members of the Village Council,  because only one incumbent is seeking re-election.

So decision-making for Village government should look very different —but also likely very familiar— after Election Day March 1.

That’s because the three mayoral candidates include former Mayor Gary Kanin and former Councillor Jim Fahey. And in Council District 4, one of the candidates to fill Tyson Parker’s seat  is none other than a former councillor representing that district, John Alsobrook.

Also seeking the District 4 seat is Courtenay Eichhorst, son of former Councillor Bob Eichhorst.

Amid a flurry of rumors that she would not seek re-election, Mayor Jo Anne Roake said January 3 she had not decided whether to try for a new term. In the end, she decided not to run.

The only incumbent to sign up for four more years was District 3 Councillor Mel Knight, who faces challenger Jonathan Dilts.

Kevin Lucero opted not to seek re-election for the Council District 1 seat, but three villagers stepped up: Rick Miera, Cora Frantz and James Ward.

Terms are not expiring for the council seats held by Bill Woldman, Stuart Murray and Zach Burkett, nor by Municipal Judge Michelle Frechette.

Any write-in candidates for the positions which become open in March must file with the Village Clerk on January 11. Early voting begins February 1.

Among major issues with which the new governing body likely will grapple are changes to the Village’s land use ordinances, possible revisions to the Corrales Comprehensive Plan, residential density, especially regarding senior living facilities and regulation of water usage.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here